Golf Course View

The Welham Weston Trophy


Each league team comprises a representative side from that league. CJGL have agreed that the team members shall be selected from the 2nd, 3rd and 4th sides in the league table for the previous year.

Venue: The agreed leagues responsible and venues are as the table below:-
2012 Vale  
2013 Chiltern Gerrards Cross
2014 Not played  
2015 Not played  
2016 Thames Valley Goring & Streatley
2017 Vale Leighton Buzzard
2018 Chiltern Beaconsfield
2019 Thames Valley Castle Royle
2020 Vale  
2021 Chiltern  
2022 Thames Valley  
2023 Vale  
2024 Chiltern  
2025 Thames Valley  

Format: Each league enters a team of 8 players. The competition is an 18-hole medal stroke play competition with full handicap allowance. Boys play off white tees and girls play off red tees.
All players must have a Congu Competition Handicap with a maximum playing handicap of 28 for boys and 36 for girls. Adjustments for mixed golf are made according to Congu.
The aggregate of the 7 best scores for each team is used to determine the winner. In the case of a tie, the 8th score is used, and if all 8 scores are equal, the trophy is shared.

Match Date and Start Time: The match date and starting time is determined by the host league.

Players: Each Club is requested to advise the Organisers the names and handicaps of their players, no later than 1 week before the date of the event. This enables the Organisers to prepare running order and scorecards.

Catering: A meal is provided after the match for all players.

Match Fees: Catering for the players is covered by the host league.

Prizes: The winning league is awarded the Welham Weston Trophy plus individual trophies for team members sponsored by the BB&O.

  Revised January 26th 2020