Golf Course View

The Bert Yates Trophy


This trophy is open to the league winners from each of the junior leagues in the BB&O and therefore takes place at the end of the season.

Venue: The agreed leagues responsible and selected venues until 2016 are as the table below: -
2012 Vale  
2013 Chiltern Stoke Park
2014 Thames Valley Sonning
2015 Vale Woburn
2016 Chiltern Beaconsfield
2017 Thames Valley Reading
2018 Vale Aspley Guise
2019 Chiltern Harewood Downs
2020 Thames Valley  
2021 Vale  
2022 Chiltern  
2023 Thames Valley  
2024 Vale  
2025 Chiltern  

Format: Each club enters a team of 6 players. The competition is an 18-hole stableford competition with full handicap allowance. Boys play off white tees and girls play off red tees.
All players must have a Congu Competition Handicap with a maximum playing handicap of 28 for boys and 36 for girls. Adjustments for mixed golf are made according to Congu.
The aggregate of the 5 best scores for each team is used to determine the winner. In the case of a tie, the 6th score is used, and if all 6 scores are equal, the trophy is shared.

Match Date: The match date and start time is determined by the host league but it will generally be held in October during the Autumn half-term.

Start Time: The match start time is determined by the host league.

Players: Each Club is requested to advise the Organisers the names and handicaps of their players, no later than 1 week before the date of the event. This enables the Organisers to prepare running order and scorecards.

Catering: A meal is provided to all players.

Match Fees: Catering for the players is covered by the host league.

Prizes: Winning Team is awarded The Bert Yates Trophy.

  Revised January 26th 2020